.

Gingrich and Limbaugh Get it Wrong on Trayvon, Obama

Newt Gingrich and Rush Limbaugh chose to exploit Trayvon when they attacked President Barack Obama for saying that if he had a son, he would look like the slain teen.

 

Newt Gingrich and Rush Limbaugh have no shame.

They could not care less about Trayvon Martin or the millions of young men he represents. Instead they chose to exploit when they attacked President Barack Obama for saying that if he had a son, he would look like the slain 17-year-old.

During a "Hannity Radio" interview Gringrich said, “What the president said, in a sense, is disgraceful. It’s not a question of who that young man looked like. Any young American of any ethnic background should be safe, period. We should all be horrified no matter what the ethnic background."

He went on to say, “Trying to turn it into a racial issue is fundamentally wrong. I really find it appalling.”

Limbaugh followed up by calling Obama’s remarks a “political opportunity.”

Gingrich and Limbaugh don’t matter in the scheme of what is true. If you’ve been paying attention over the last week, you’ve repeatedly heard young men say, “I am Trayvon.” 

You’ve heard mothers say, “That could’ve been my son.”

The photo attached to this piece is my 30-year-old nephew – one of three young men in my family who could’ve been Trayvon, not to mention a four-year-old nephew who is thankfully still oblivious to the negative projections of this world we live in.

When my nephew, Russell, who is pictured, was about 14-years-old, growing up in the Norfolk, Va. area, I wrote him a letter. I was living in New York City and my African American police friends told me how they feared for their young sons' lives. These fathers were worried that their children might one day be in the wrong place, at the wrong time - mistaken for someone else or simply misunderstood.

I urged my nephew to be careful. He thought I was nuts but I didn’t care. 

Newt and Rush would like us to say race doesn’t matter, instead of having all races celebrate our uniqueness and recognize our different experiences. 

Black men [and women] walk a particular path, just as other groups of people experience their own walk of life.

If we go through this world worried that our livelihood is going to be threatened, our homes are going to be broken into, someone is going to rob or attack us; the person that society or the media has most likely said we should fear is a person of color.

Not every black man carries that burden, but every black person is aware of the reality. 

The beauty of this world is we bond with each other in spite of this truth, and many of us come to experience each other through a colorless lens. Perhaps that’s why Trayvon’s story has struck a chord at this time, after countless young black men have been killed before him.

The country sees his innocence. They see a mother’s broken heart and a father fighting back the pain. And while Trayvon’s life represents an aspect of the black experience, his eternal spirit has connected much of the country - except Newt and Rush.

splindanoodle March 28, 2012 at 10:46 AM
Your comments are very one-sided and I think it is important that you realize this. The point is that the people exploiting Trayvon are the people like Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton. They are exploiting his race as a way to fan the flames of people's hatred. The overall problem with this case is not whether Trayvon was black it is with the question of whether the shooter should have been arrested and whether justice has been done. I do believe that there are people out there that feel they can get ahead by increasing hatred between the different races in this country. It makes me sad that instead of taking middle ground stance on this issue and waiting to find out what really happened you have already made your judgement. Ask yourself this...if the roles were reversed would the story have even reached a state level much less a national level? Neither one of the individuals are getting a fair shake in this case. One has a bounty on his head and is being called guilty until proven innocent and the other's reputation is being questioned. This is a travesty is all sense of the word by bringing in the racial issue the real problem has been over shadowed.
Sam Felton March 28, 2012 at 12:06 PM
If the president, JJ and AS went around to every shooting they would never sleep. Running around over the 'offense of the month' and just stirring up the pot only brings further corruption. Look at the Duke Lacross and Tywanna Brawley cases many more people were harmed after the events than during the event.
Sam Felton March 28, 2012 at 12:07 PM
Amen
Donna Shapiro March 28, 2012 at 12:43 PM
Adrienne, I agree with you. I think that Rush represents what many people want to believe, that we no longer have racism and that racism does not affect what happens to people. I am white and see racism all around me, both blatent and subtle. I believe we need to face up to it if we are ever to deal with it effectively.
Leianne Messina-Brown March 28, 2012 at 12:58 PM
Are you a reporter who is supposed to be unbiased or are you writing editorial? If the Patch is going to publish reporters opinions rather than facts then I will unsubscribe.
Adrianne Murchison (Editor) March 28, 2012 at 01:23 PM
I am human Leianne and thankful that you read Patch and see solid reporting throughout and local issues. And thanks Donna, Linda and Sam for your comments. Thousands of people have said that but not for the color of a young man's skin, he would still be alive today. Parents describe "the talk" they must have with their children. Acknowledging this way of life and that race exists does not support a bounty on George Zimmerman or any person black or white that tries to exploit Trayvon. It's an attempt to speak to what is true.
Jeff Brailey March 28, 2012 at 01:50 PM
"As the father of three daughters and three stepdaughters, I am appalled that Clear Channel still defends the misogynist Rush Limbaugh. It's not a political issue, it's a common decency and public civility matter. I don't care if the sexist's name is Limbaugh or Maher, vulgar depictions of women are unacceptable and if they don't clean up their acts they should be removed from the public airwaves and sent to some satellite circling high over the globe."
Rita Brown March 28, 2012 at 03:04 PM
I have a 15 year old and a 19 year old, they both wear hoodies that I buy for them. We live in the Hampton Roads area. When my sons leave the house I remind them of "the talk". 1. Have your wallet and ID 2. If stopped by a law enforcement officer answer questions respectfully. 3. When asked for ID, verbally let the police office know that you are going into your pocket to retrieve your wallet. Oh by the way they are both Honor Roll students not thugs or gang members.
bigduke March 28, 2012 at 05:09 PM
I wish I could say this is the exception, but sadly it's the rule. May your children live long and good lives.
Barbara Rossenberg March 28, 2012 at 06:52 PM
Thank you so much for your article. I agree with you because you are telling the truth, And those who cannot see the light of truth are not blind to the facts but love the darkness and need prayer as do we all. All these unjust and senseless murders are the result of HATE in all of its many forms. Remember Cain killed his very own brother because of: Jealousy, envy and self-hatred. Put this together and we have an acronym JES now all that is needed is US to create JESUS. Then through Him we can have a world of love, equality and peace. We are all one race in one race attempting to make the mark that God has put before us. Let us run this race as one brotherhood Facts we know: Zimmerman is a murderer and Tryvon is dead and Zimmerman stalked Tryvon with the intent to kill him because of the hatred in his own heart. Now let’s pray for justice
Barbara Rossenberg March 28, 2012 at 07:09 PM
The bounty on Zimmerman is less of a threat than the fear that the corrupt police department imposes. I strongly assert " If Zimmerman were to tell the truth about the murder of Tryvon, instead of concurring with the fabricated evidence presented by the corrupt police , they would knock Zimmerman off and claim the Black Panther or some other black person did the killing. That corrupt police department is at this very moment planting evidence to fit their claims and destroying the truth. Let us pray for justice in JESUS' name amen.
Barbara Rossenberg March 28, 2012 at 07:57 PM
Should we look at the lady who said a black male kidnapped her kids when she infact had drowned them or should we look at the people who said that the Holocost was a lie or should we look at the facts of THIS case and see our son in TRYVON? Let's pray for justice in THIS case OK
Barbara Rossenberg March 28, 2012 at 08:00 PM
Please unsubscibe if you cannot stand the truth and prefer to listen to liars like Rush Woman where is your heart? Let's pray you get one.
splindanoodle March 28, 2012 at 08:42 PM
Barbara you talk about the killing as if you were actually a witness to it. I do agree that it is a sad day that a young man that is full of potential is dead but I do not think it is okay to judge another without knowing the facts. The good Lord, Trayvon and Zimmerman are the only three that know what actually happened. To spout off opinions concerning a corrupt police office that is planting evidence to collaborate their case as fact is absolutely ridiculous. And also to state that the police department will execute Zimmerman and blame it on the Black Panther party is insane. These type of statements are the reasons why people are getting so heated up and not able to see the fire behind the smoke. There is absolutely no evidence to support your claim so you need to present it as an opinion and not a fact. Finally the bounty on Zimmerman's head is ridiculous yet being completely ignored. You claim it isn't a big deal that there is a bounty but if Zimmerman is actually killed because of it, the bounty supporters are all accessories to a murder and therefore no better than Zimmerman himself. It is vital that we maintain laws and follow in the idea that Zimmerman is innocent until proven guilty. If Zimmerman is guilty then trust in the Lord that justice will be served in one form or another. Spouting off opinion or lies as a fact is not the way to go about getting justice.
Barbara Rossenberg March 28, 2012 at 09:30 PM
Linda, you do know the facts and so do I as I stated: Zimmerman is a murderer Tryvon is dead and Zimmerman stalked Tryvon and murdered him (He confessed to the murder RIGHT) end of story. As far as the bounty, Zimmer has more to fear from the corrupt police who would kill him for telling the truth instead of supporting the lies and evidence they fabricated and put forth. Don't you understand that corrupt police have in the past and are now planting evidence and destroying the truth? Based on the history of corrupt police they will kill Zimmerman themselves and claim the Black Panthers or some other black person did the killing. Please remember the corrupt police, authorities and people in power destroyed 6 million of my ancestors, enslaved more than 20 million blacks, and upheld Jim Crow. Neither public opinion nor your comments can erase the truth We see history repeating itself everyday as in the case of the murder of unarmed Tryvon. You cannot take back what Zimmerman has confessed to doing. So together let's pray for justice OK. I know the pain of injustice and if you do not then I am sure you know what pain feels like and their is pain in my heart, because of this senseless murder and human suffering everywhere and that's a fact too.
splindanoodle March 28, 2012 at 10:46 PM
I find it very interesting that you and thousands of other Americans are fiighting against the stereotype that black teenagers in hoodies are trouble yet you are stereotyping that all police are corrupt. Corruption can happen in all walks of life and I refuse to believe that law enforcement is a wholly corrupt organization. I appreciate the conversation we have had this far and even though I do not agree with you, I do respect your opinion. I am just thankful that we live in a nation where discussions like this can even take place.
Barbara Rossenberg March 29, 2012 at 12:11 AM
I said "corrupt police" the adjective “corrupt" is a fact that can be researched if you are inclined to do so. All is never a term that I would apply to anything and you should not either when you disdainingly suggested "black teenagers in hoodies are trouble". Perhaps you too are harboring “Jealousy, Envy and Self hatred and need us to form JESUS” and be set free from Hate’s grip. I pray we all can pray for justice in Trayvon’s case, and not be afraid to stand up for the truth “Zimmerman murdered Trayvon and Trayvon is dead. Zimmerman stalked and murdered Trayvon per his own confession." You cannot kill the truth with a lie so stop trying. Nor can you change the facts or attempt to refocus the argument “Zimmerman murdered Tryvon after stalking him “Got it?” Please note that my sons and grandsons as well as I wear hoodies, and we are not going to be murdered for wearing them. Why should black teens or anyone be murdered for wearing them? As I said in another response on this topic HATE is the true culprit in senseless murders like Trayvon's and in the holocaust. Finally I agree we can disagree in this country.
dudes5 March 29, 2012 at 01:08 AM
In the US people are innocent until proven guilty also "I said "corrupt police" the adjective “corrupt" is a fact that can be researched if you are inclined to do so." Stereotype " A stereotype is a popular belief about specific types of individuals. The concepts of "stereotype" and "prejudice" are often confused with many other different meanings. Stereotypes are standardized and simplified conceptions of people based on some prior assumptions. "
Michael March 29, 2012 at 01:29 AM
This is supposed to be a local publication, yet its editor is writing editorials about a situation in Florida? I'm complaining to the authorities above.
Adrianne Murchison (Editor) March 29, 2012 at 01:52 AM
Michael, I appreciate your comment. Even national stories hit home as evidenced by the string of comments above. In covering Sandy Springs, we have also stayed in tune with the Presidential campaign candidates and other national stories. To quote splindanoodle above, “I am just thankful that we live in a nation where discussions like this can even take place.” I would add, that I am thankful that we have a forum where periodically discussions like this can take place. It is how we come to learn and grow from each other.
Michael March 29, 2012 at 02:15 AM
How exactly did it hit "home," i.e., Sandy Springs, Georgia? I see no similar editorials in any other Patches covering metro Atlanta. Perhaps a Patch close to the state Capitol could report on the rally held there, but since your editorial made no mention of that rally, I think that point is moot. You are entitled to your opinion, but this editorial does not even attempt to make a connection to Sandy Springs or even metro Atlanta. It belongs on a personal blog, or perhaps a Patch located in metropolitan Miami. I read the Patch because of its unbaised reporting on local issues and national issues that have a local reach. While every editorial is biased, this particular editorial has no bearing whatsoever on anything related to Sandy Springs or even metro Atlanta.
Adrianne Murchison (Editor) March 29, 2012 at 03:12 AM
Michael, when I say it hits home for folks, I mean in their consciousness. This issue does have bearing on metro Atlanta, of which Sandy Springs is a part of since a rally was held at the Capitol on Monday. Also, Newt Gingrich, a Georgian, has Sandy Springs ties. But I understand and appreciate your thoughts.
Donna Shapiro March 29, 2012 at 11:49 AM
Michael, there is another local paper freely distributed to our homes which is full of editorial opinion about national affairs. And, I believe national affairs do have an impact on local affairs. Also, Adrianne's comments were labeled as opinion. By the way, I do agree with innocent until proven guilty. As far as that goes, I think the issue is the failure to investigate Zimmerman. And, of course, the bounty idea is horrible. I think Jon Stewart put it well...they have missed the point because they are reacting to a solitary vigilante with group vigilantism.
Anthony Poselenzny April 04, 2012 at 11:28 AM
I just look at this from Trayvon's point of view. He saw someone coming after him and he looked like he was pretty intent. If I was Trayvon I would have been frightened for my life. It is obvious now that he would be quite correct in feeling that way. So, Trayvon stood his ground, which is his right. So, how do we determine who is in the wrong here. We have to ask ourselves, who started he pursuit? We also have to ask ourselves what was either person protecting, property or life? Common sense then prevails. George was pursing Trayvon to protect property. Trayvon responded to protect his life. Then we have to ask ourselves what precedent do we want to set when issues like this come up in the future?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »