Sandy Springs Students Receive National Merit Scholarships

Riverwood International and North Springs charter students have received scholarships through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Credit: Patch
Credit: Patch
Close to two dozen students in the Fulton County School System have been awarded scholarships through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. 

Twenty-two Fulton County seniors have received prestigious honors as part of the corporation's 2014 awards program.

2014 National Merit Corporate-Sponsored Scholarships 

Chattahoochee High School

Siddharth R. Duddikunta

Suryabrata Dutta

Sunidhi Ramesh

Joy C. Xu

William Z. Yang 

Centennial High School

Dorothy A. Cannella 

Johns Creek High School

Gordon Y. Li

Shohini Rakhit

Milton High School

Naganavya S. Ravoori 

North Springs Charter High School

Adam G. Berger

Jacob A. Busby

Daniel M. Muehring 

Northview High School

Samar Abdelmageed

Rohan K. Doshi

These particular National Merit scholarships are sponsored by corporations that designate awards for finalists with career plans the sponsor wishes to encourage; for children of their employees; or for residents of a community where a company has operations. 

The scholarships may be renewable for four years of undergraduate study or be granted as one-time awards. Roughly 1,000 students nationwide qualified for this prestigious award.

The organization also announced that eight Fulton County seniors were named winners in the 50th annual National Achievement Scholarship Program, an academic competition for African-American high school students. 

Each student has won a $2,500 cash prize or an equivalent scholarship from one of the 31 corporations underwriting the National Merit program. 

2014 National Achievement Scholarships 

Centennial High School

Evan S. Johnson 

Chattahoochee High School

Lorin J. Crear

Johns Creek High School

Peyton B. Smith

Milton High School

Arianna M. Brown

Brenna C. Fromayan

Riverwood International Charter School

Christina N. Rhaney

India M. Smith 

Westlake High School

Alexus L. Rockward

National Merit Scholarship Corp. conducts the annual National Merit Scholarship and National Achievement Scholarship programs. Qualifying students were identified through exceptionally high scores on the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. 

Along with having a record of high academic performance, they were endorsed by their school principal and earned high SAT scores confirming their earlier qualifying test performance. Scholarships awarded through the programs are underwritten by business organizations and higher education institutions, as well as by the organization’s own funds. 

The final three rounds of winners, which are for those earning National Merit-sponsored and college-sponsored scholarships, will be announced by National Merit on May 7, May 28 and July 14.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »