News Alert
Sandy Springs Investigating Shooting Near Hotel

Pro Cyclists Ride Into Sandy Springs Sunday

Daylong events run from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. at 6075 Sandy Springs Circle.


The Global Imports Cycling Challenge caps nine days of intense racing in seven southeast cities beginning in Athens, Ga. and culminating in Sandy Springs. The top men’s and women’s professional elite teams are competing for $150,000 in prizes.

There's an overall individual winner of Speed Week, a team winner, and a winner of the Global Imports Cycling Challenge. The cyclists accumulated points for how they finished each race, throughout the week.

The local course has earned the city the nickname, “Mount Sandy Springs,” for the hill that peaks at the start and finish line on Sandy Springs Circle.

Cyclists ride into Sandy Springs after competing in the Electric City Circuit in Anderson, S.C.

Event organizer and Sandy Springs City Councilwoman Dianne Fries provided the results below.

There is no admission fee to attend Sunday’s activities. Tickets for the Sandy Springs Food And Wine Classic, will be sold at $1.00 per ticket with proceeds from the event benefitting Sandy Springs Police and Fire Departments.

In addition to the Global Imports Sandy Springs Cycling Challenge, the city will host the Northside Hospital Challenge Ride featuring 20-40-62 mile rides. 

Registration begins at 7:30 a.m. with the rides beginning at 8:30 a.m. The Sandy Springs Police and Fire Departments square off in a friendly cycling competition at 3:30 p.m.

Electric City Circuit Results


1. David Williams, Competitive Cyclist Racing Team
2. Carlos Alzate, Team Exergy
3. Robert Forster, UnitedHealthcare
4. Jake Keough, UnitedHealthcare
5. Emile Abraham, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team
6. Frank Travieso, Team Coco's
7. John Murphy, Kenda/5-Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder
8. Jean Michel Lechance, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team
9. Leonardo Marquez, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team
10. Shane Kline Team, Mountain Khakis/SmartStop


1. Kendall Ryan, Team TIBCO
2. Jennifer Purcell, Team TIBCO
3. Erica Allar, RIDECLEAN/PatentIt.com
4. Sarah Fader, Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech Trainin
5. Joanne Kiesanowski, Team TIBCO
6. Laura Van Gilder, Mellow Mushroom/Rose Bandit Racing
7. Alexis Ryan, Team TIBCO
9. Debbie Milne, Absolute Racing/ MSMOC
10. Addyson 'Addy' Albershardt, NOW-Novartis for MS

USA CRITS Speed Week Overall Standings (after six events)


1. Carlos Alzate, Team Exergy, 1441 pts
2. Frank Travieso, Team Coco's, 1335 pts
3. Emile Abraham, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team, 1314 pts
4. John Murphy, Kenda/5-Hour Energy Pro Cycling p/b Geargrinder, 1296 pts
5. Brendan Cornett, Cycle Sport Concepts, 1070 pts
6. Ben Chaddock, Team Exergy, 1053 pts
7. Rafael Meran, CRCA/Foundation, 1023 pts
8. Yosmani Pol, Team Coco's, 1021
9. Thomas Brown, Team Mountain Khakis/SmartStop, 994 pts
10. Issac Howe, Kenda/5-Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder, 950 pts


1. Erica Allar, RIDECLEAN/PatentIt.com, 1454 pts
2. Laura Van Gilder, Mellow Mushroom/Rose Bandit Racing, 1416 pts
3. Sarah Fader, Pepper PalaceSpin-Tech Training p/b ABRC, 1394 pts
4. Linday Bayer, XO Communications p/b CISCO, 1270 pts
5. Alexis Ryan, Team TIBCO/To the Top, 1182 pts
6. Elizabeth Morse Hill, ZMOTION Racing Team, 1164 pts
7. Addy Albershardt, NOW-Novartis for MS, 1116 pts
8. Carrie Cash, Pedal The Cause, 1060 pts
9. Morgan Patton, Team Type 1 - SANOFI, 1048 pts
10. Kat Carr, Paceline Projects p/b Veloforma, 1037 pts


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »